The Stages And Changes Of Menopause

The Stages And Changes Of Menopause

The Stages And Changes Of Menopause

The menopause is a natural part of the ageing process that occurs in all women. It is caused by changes in the balance of the body’s sex hormone. The menopause can be divided into three stages; peri-menopause, menopause and post-menopause

  1. Peri-menopause
    Peri-menopause is a transition period before the menopause, when a woman’s ovaries begin to produce less oestrogen. It lasts until the menopause, when the ovaries stop releasing eggs. On an average, the peri-menopause stage lasts for around 4 years.
  2. Menopause
    The menopause begins when the ovaries stop releasing eggs and the woman stops having periods. The menopause is confirmed after 12 months without a period. A woman is now no longer able to fall pregnant.
  3. Post menopause
    Once a woman has been through the menopause, the post-menopause stage poses other health issues. Due to a decline in hormone levels, postmenopausal women are at greater risk of conditions like heart disease and osteoporosis.

Did You Know? If a woman goes through the menopause before the age of 40, this is known as premature menopause. Around 1 in 100 women go through the menopause under the age of 40, with 1 in 10 of these being under 30

Supplement That Can Help

  • Menapol Plus
    Is a combination of ingredients that can help to regulate hormonal imbalances in menopausal women.
  • Soya Isoflavones
    Are thought to be beneficial in reducing menopausal symptoms such as hot flushes, night sweats and reduced libido.
  • Red Clover
    Provides phytoestrogens that can replace oestrogen lost during the menopause.
  • Back Cohosh 
    Is also rich in isoflavones and is therefore popular with menopausal women for reducing symptoms



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *